Company Complaint Information
In compliance with California Insurance Code § 12921.1, the California Department of Insurance conducted a Consumer Complaint Study of all admitted insurance carriers. The company performance table provides the complaints determined by the department to require that corrective action be taken against the insurer, or leading to insurer compromise, or other remedy for the complainant, those that are found to be without merit, those with other outcomes, and justified complaints. Justified complaints often require additional review, as violations of California insurance laws may exist.
(TOTAL of Categories 1-3)
Complaints found to require corrective action, leading to insurer compromise, or other remedy for the complainant.
Complaints found to be without Merit.
Complaints with Other Outcomes
Violation StudyThe following table represents number and type of violations found, by reference to the line of insurance and law allegedly violated.
|Year||Line of Coverage||Law||Section||Summarized Description of Law||# of Alleged Violations|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.5b||Must provide complete response to claimant inquiries within 15 calendar days.||3|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.8f||Standards for the preparation and reasonable adjustment of auto repair estimates on partial losses.||1|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2632.14a2||GDD policy shall contain comprehensive coverage or collision coverage, or both of such coverages, in addition to liability coverag||1|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.5e3||Must begin investigation within 15 calendar days of notification of claim.||2|
|2016||Automobile||CIC||880||Failure of insurer to use own name||2|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.5e2||Must supply forms, instructions & assistance within 15 calendar days of claim notification.||1|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.7c1||Must notify in writing every 30 calendar days if more time is required to investigate claim.||2|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.5a||Must respond to the California Department of Insurance within 21 calendar days.||1|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.7b||Must accept/deny or provide written delay notice within 40 calendar days of proof of claim.||3|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.7k1||Must make diligent attempt to verify fraud within 80 calendar days from suspicion of fraud.||1|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.3a||File must contain all documents.||1|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.7f||Written notice before 60 days of expiration of statute of limitations on bodily injury claims.||1|
|2016||Automobile||CIC||671||Refusal to issue policy solely on age of auto if market value exceeds $2500; prohibited, exceptions||1|
|2016||Automobile||CCR||2695.8f3||Reasonably adjust the claimant's estimate.||1|
|2016||Homeowners||CCR||2695.5a||Must respond to the California Department of Insurance within 21 calendar days.||1|
The information below is for complaints closed during the study period for this insurance company. The table provides the Justified Complaint Ratio, Market Share, Complaint Share, and Index for this company, grouped by the line of coverage the company was authorized to sell in this study period.
|Year||Line of Coverage||JustifiedComplaint Ratio||Market Share||Complaint Share||Index|
If complaint data does not appear for this company, this link will provide you with an explanation.
For calendar year 2006, the Department's Consumer Services Division had received 276,419 consumer telephone calls, handled 33,054 written cases, and recovered $31,526,079 for consumers and policyholders.