|In compliance with California Insurance Code § 12921.1, the California Department of Insurance conducted a Consumer Complaint Study of all admitted insurance carriers. The company performance table provides the complaints determined by the department to require that corrective action be taken against the insurer, or leading to insurer compromise, or other remedy for the complainant, those that are found to be without merit, those with other outcomes, and justified complaints. Justified complaints often require additional review, as violations of California insurance laws may exist.|
(TOTAL of Categories 1-3)
Complaints found to require corrective action, leading to insurer compromise, or other remedy for the complainant.
Complaints found to be without Merit.
Complaints with Other Outcomes
|Year||Line of Coverage||Law||Section||Summarized Description of Law||# of Alleged Violations|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2695.7b3||Must notify claimant that claim denial can be reviewed by the California Dept. of Insurance.||2|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2632.13(e)(2)||Respond in writing to a request for reconsideration of principally at-fault determination within 30 days by an employee other than||1|
|2020||Automobile||CIC||758c||Reporting auto labor rate surveys to the California Department of Insurance||3|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2695.8f3||Reasonably adjust the claimant's estimate.||1|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2695.5a||Must respond to the California Department of Insurance within 21 calendar days.||1|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2695.7c1||Must notify in writing every 30 calendar days if more time is required to investigate claim.||1|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2695.7f||Written notice before 60 days of expiration of statute of limitations on bodily injury claims.||3|
|2020||Automobile||CIC||790.03h3||Failing to adopt & implement standards for the prompt investigation & processing of claims||1|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2694a3||In contravention of own rules, policies, procedures, guidelines||1|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2695.7b||Must accept/deny or provide written delay notice within 40 calendar days of proof of claim.||1|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2695.7b1||Must deny all claims in writing. Must cite statute, applicable law or policy provision on 1st party claims.||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CCR||2695.7b3||Must notify claimant that claim denial can be reviewed by the California Dept. of Insurance.||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CCR||2694a3||In contravention of own rules, policies, procedures, guidelines||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CCR||2695.5b||Must provide complete response to claimant inquiries within 15 calendar days.||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CIC||880||Failure of insurer to use own name||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CIC||2084||Requirement to provide one free copy of homeowners policy within 30 days of request after a loss or annually if no loss occurred||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CIC||2071.||California Standard form Fire Insurance policy||1|
If complaint data does not appear for this company, this link will provide you with an explanation.
To view the California Insurance Code (CIC), Click here
To view the California Code of Regulations (CCR), Click here
The information below is for complaints closed during the study period for this insurance company. The table provides the Justified Complaint Ratio, Market Share, Complaint Share, and Index for this company, grouped by the line of coverage the company was authorized to sell in this study period.
|Year||Line of Coverage||JustifiedComplaint Ratio||Market Share||Complaint Share||Index|
Copyright © California Department of Insurance