|In compliance with California Insurance Code § 12921.1, the California Department of Insurance conducted a Consumer Complaint Study of all admitted insurance carriers. The company performance table provides the complaints determined by the department to require that corrective action be taken against the insurer, or leading to insurer compromise, or other remedy for the complainant, those that are found to be without merit, those with other outcomes, and justified complaints. Justified complaints often require additional review, as violations of California insurance laws may exist.|
(TOTAL of Categories 1-3)
Complaints found to require corrective action, leading to insurer compromise, or other remedy for the complainant.
Complaints found to be without Merit.
Complaints with Other Outcomes
|Year||Line of Coverage||Law||Section||Summarized Description of Law||# of Alleged Violations|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2632.5c1A||Class plan rating factor -first mandatory factor - determined from the public record of traffic violation convictions from the DMV||1|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2695.5a||Must respond to the California Department of Insurance within 21 calendar days.||1|
|2020||Automobile||CIC||880||Failure of insurer to use own name||1|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2694a3||In contravention of own rules, policies, procedures, guidelines||1|
|2020||Automobile||CCR||2695.7b1||Must deny all claims in writing. Must cite statute, applicable law or policy provision on 1st party claims.||1|
|2020||Automobile||CIC||11580.011||Coverage for replacement of child passenger restraint system; insurer obligation||1|
|2020||Automobile||CIC||1861.05a||Excessive, inadequate, unfairly discriminatory rates||1|
|2020||Fire||CCR||2695.7f||Written notice before 60 days of expiration of statute of limitations on bodily injury claims.||1|
|2020||Fire||CCR||2695.7b3||Must notify claimant that claim denial can be reviewed by the California Dept. of Insurance.||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CIC||14046(b)||Within 15 days after notice of claim, insurer must provide claimant with copy of annual CDI notice describing the most significant||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CCR||2695.183(a)||Lists the dwelling expenses and characteristics that must be included in the dwelling replacement cost estimate.||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CCR||2695.183(i)||Licensee shall maintain a record of information supplied by the applicant or insured used to generate the estimate.||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CCR||2694a3||In contravention of own rules, policies, procedures, guidelines||3|
|2020||Homeowners||CIC||880||Failure of insurer to use own name||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CCR||2694a5||Failed to respond or did not provide a complete response||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CIC||675.1a||Adjustment to limits after a total loss, during reconstruction||1|
|2020||Homeowners||CIC||678(c)(1)||For nonrenewals on or effective July 1, 2020, an insurer shall deliver to the named insured a notice of non-renewal at least 75 da||2|
If complaint data does not appear for this company, this link will provide you with an explanation.
To view the California Insurance Code (CIC), Click here
To view the California Code of Regulations (CCR), Click here
The information below is for complaints closed during the study period for this insurance company. The table provides the Justified Complaint Ratio, Market Share, Complaint Share, and Index for this company, grouped by the line of coverage the company was authorized to sell in this study period.
|Year||Line of Coverage||JustifiedComplaint Ratio||Market Share||Complaint Share||Index|
Copyright © California Department of Insurance