Independent Insurance Adjuster Registration and Certification Services

Welcome to the California Department of Insurance's Independent Insurance Adjuster Registration and Certification Services
Independent Adjuster Firm and Qualified Manager Employee Registration
The California Department of Insurance's (CDI) Independent Insurance Adjuster Registration and Certification Services (Adjuster Online Services) provide qualified licensed adjusters and qualified managers with an online service to register employees who are authorized to negotiate claims settlements on their behalf in California. In addition, adjuster firms and qualified managers can end the registration of their employees using CDI's Adjuster Online Services. To use CDI's Adjuster Online Services, adjuster firms and qualified managers must first set-up an account and log-in to the Independent Insurance Adjuster Registration Service to register their list of employees. Employee registration must be received within 30 days from the date the employee is hired (California Insurance Code (Cal. Ins. Code) Sections 14022(a), 14041 and Title 10 California Code of Regulations (10 Cal. Code Regs.) Section 2691.12).
Please direct questions to CDI’s Producer Licensing Bureau’s Adjuster Unit by email at Sac.adjuster@insurance.ca.gov or by calling the Licensing Hotline at (800) 967-9331.
Declared Emergency Situation by the Insurance Commissioner (Link will be active at the time the Insurance Commissioner declares an emergency situation in California)
In the event of a declared emergency situation by the Insurance Commissioner, insurers, adjuster firms, and qualified managers must register adjusters not licensed in California and insurance adjuster employees who work under their active direction, control, charge, or management during the Insurance Commissioner declared emergency situation. CDI’s Adjuster Online Services provide insurers, adjuster firms, and qualified managers with an online service to complete the required adjuster and employee registration. To use the Adjuster Online Services, insurers, adjuster firms, and qualified managers must set-up an account and log-in to CDI's Adjusters Not Licensed in California, Declared Emergency Situation Registration Services to register the adjusters not licensed in California and insurance adjuster employees. Registration must be received within 15 days from the date the adjuster commences adjusting claims in California (Cal. Ins. Code Section 14022.5).
Adjusters Not Licensed in California Must Submit Certification (Link will be active at the time the Insurance Commissioner declares an emergency situation in California)
In the event of a declared emergency situation by the Insurance Commissioner, adjusters not licensed in California and insurance adjuster employees must certify, under penalty of perjury, they have read and understand CDI’s Notice and CDI’s Guide or their registration is invalid (Cal. Ins. Code 14022.5(d)). CDI’s Adjuster Online Services provides an online service for registered adjusters to complete this requirement. Specifically, at the time the insurer, adjuster firm, or qualified manager submits the registration, an email is available to send to the adjuster or employee that provides access to CDI's online Certification – Adjusters Not Licensed In California, Declared Emergency Situation by the Insurance Commissioner, CDI-184, to certify electronically, under penalty of perjury, that they read and understand CDI's Notice and CDI’s Guide (Cal. Ins. Code sections 14022.5(a)(3) and 14046(c)).